News

FirstBank Teams Up With Pointek to Offer Phones and Laptops on Instalments

FirstBank Teams Up With Pointek to Offer Phones and Laptops on Instalments

The lender’s Firstease product will let customers buy devices from Pointek at a reported 3% interest rate.

FirstBank has entered a partnership with Pointek, a Nigerian electronics retailer, to let customers purchase phones and laptops on instalment plans. The arrangement allows shoppers to acquire devices upfront and spread repayments over a set period rather than paying the full price at once.

According to reports, the instalment offering is delivered through Firstease, a product associated with FirstBank. One report describes the plan as carrying a 3% interest rate, positioning it as a relatively low-cost financing option compared with some existing consumer credit products in the market.

Buy-now-pay-later arrangements have expanded steadily across Nigeria in recent years. Rising device prices, driven partly by currency pressures and import costs, have made outright cash purchases harder for many consumers. Instalment financing offers an alternative path to ownership without requiring the full purchase price upfront.

Banks entering this space typically aim to deepen engagement with retail customers while generating additional revenue streams. Partnering with established retailers like Pointek gives a bank access to existing customer footfall and inventory without having to build its own retail distribution network from scratch.

For Pointek, the tie-up with a major lender like FirstBank could broaden its customer base. Shoppers who might otherwise delay a purchase due to cost can instead opt for structured repayments. This can translate into higher sales volumes for the retailer, provided repayment terms remain manageable for buyers.

The specifics of the instalment plan, including tenure length, down payment requirements, and eligibility criteria, were not detailed in the available reports. Consumers interested in the offering would need to confirm these terms directly with FirstBank or Pointek before committing to a purchase.

Instalment and buy-now-pay-later products sit within a broader conversation about consumer credit access in Nigeria. Traditional lending has often been constrained by collateral requirements and documentation hurdles that exclude many retail buyers. Device-specific financing tied to a retail partner can simplify that process, since the product itself may serve as implicit security for the loan.

Market Impact

The partnership signals continued interest among Nigerian banks in consumer-facing financing products tied to retail purchases. If the reported 3% interest rate holds, it could pressure other lenders and fintech BNPL providers to reconsider their own pricing to stay competitive.

For the electronics retail sector, embedded financing arrangements like this one could support device sales volumes, particularly for higher-priced smartphones and laptops that remain out of reach for cash-only buyers. The broader effect on FirstBank’s loan book or Pointek’s sales figures was not disclosed in available reporting.

The FirstBank-Pointek partnership adds another entrant to Nigeria’s expanding instalment financing market for consumer electronics, with further details on terms expected to emerge as the offering rolls out.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does the FirstBank and Pointek partnership offer?

It allows customers to buy phones and laptops from Pointek through instalment payments instead of paying the full price upfront.

What interest rate applies to the instalment plan?

One report states the plan carries a 3% interest rate, though full terms have not been independently detailed.

Is Firstease a separate company from FirstBank?

Reports associate Firstease with FirstBank as the channel through which this instalment financing is delivered, though its exact structure was not specified.

Where can customers access this instalment plan?

The offering is tied to Pointek, the electronics retailer partnering with FirstBank, though specific purchase locations or platforms were not detailed in available reports.

Original source: AltcoinGordon

Syndicated coverage. Originally reported by altcoingordon.com.